IPL 2023 Playoffs: GT, CSK, LSG, and MI Emerge Victorious

Sunday marked the conclusion of the league stage of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL), with Mumbai Indians (MI) earning the final playoff spot.



Photo: BCCI

In the final league match, RCB needed to defeat Gujarat Titans (GT) in order to steal the final playoff spot away from MI. Unfortunately, RCB’s loss in this crucial game dropped them to sixth place.

MI displayed exceptional batting prowess in their pursuit of a target of 201 runs, reaching a remarkable 201/2 in only 18 overs. Cameron Green’s unbeaten century, which he slammed to 100 runs off just 47 balls, was the highlight of the innings.

Leading from the front, captain Rohit Sharma made an important half-century with 56 runs off 37 deliveries, which was a significant contribution. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mayank Dagar both succeeded in taking a wicket for SRH’s bowling unit, who managed to pick up one wicket total.

Due to outstanding batting efforts by Mayank Agarwal and Vivrant Sharma, SRH earlier set a challenging total of 200/5 in their allotted 20 overs. Vivrant scored 69 runs off 47 deliveries, while Mayank blazed to 83 runs off 46 balls as he displayed his talent. The bowler who stood out for MI, taking an impressive four wickets, was Akash Madhwal.

“Mumbai Indians Clinch Final Playoff Spot, Join Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings, and Lucknow Super Giants”

RCB Out of Playoffs

The victory of the Mumbai Indians and the unfavourable weather in Bengaluru upset Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) supporters. However, once the rain stopped, Virat Kohli, the opener for RCB, showed off his form by slamming an unbeaten century to start the game. RCB reached a total of 197/5 in their allotted 20 overs thanks to Kohli’s brilliant knock of 101 runs off 61 balls, setting a target of 198 runs.

GT found their own centurion to help them reach the 198-run target in the form of Shubman Gill, who smashed an unbeaten 104 runs off just 52 deliveries to help GT win by six wickets with a total of 198/4 in 19.1 overs. RCB’s Mohammed Siraj excellent with the ball, taking two crucial wickets.

The Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans finished the league phase as the league’s top team with an impressive 20 points from 14 games after their resounding victory. With 17 points, the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) are in third place, closely followed by the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who take second place.

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), who are tied for sixth place with 14 points each, are followed by the Mumbai Indians (MI), who take the fifth spot with 16 points. The Delhi Capitals (DC) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) are in eighth and ninth place, respectively, with 12 and 10 points, while the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) finish the season in seventh place with 12 points. Finally, with 8 points, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) finish the league phase in last place.

Here is the complete schedule for the IPL 2023 Playoffs:

Qualifier 1: GT vs CSK

  • Date: May 23, Tuesday
  • Time: 7:30 PM IST
  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Eliminator: LSG vs MI

  • Date: May 24, Wednesday
  • Time: 7:30 PM IST
  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Qualifier 2: Loser of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Eliminator

  • Date: May 26, Friday
  • Time: 7:30 PM IST
  • Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Final: Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2

  • Date: May 28, Sunday
  • Time: 7:30 PM IST
  • Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Exit mobile version